RUS↔ENG

16 September 2019, 08:30 UTC

Anti-flares on the Sun the eclipse season has begun on GOES satellites

Anti-flares on the Sun Solar anti-flares on the flares activity graph.


Not very rare, and not less incomprehensible from it either the appearance of negative spikes of solar flares on the graphs are registered on the incoming data from space. This kind of dips on the images come out regularly, every year: in spring (March) and in autumn (September). However, often, they go unnoticed amid strong variations which are typical for solar flares graphs. These minor and short-term radiation dips simply do not get noticed sometimes. But, the same cannot be said about the incoming data, nowadays. Since amid extremely low solar activity the flares graphs are degenerated into the almost straight lines, which is impossible, against this background, for occurring "anti-flares" to stay unnoticed.

The dips in radiation are not related to real solar activity in any way, but, do originate from the traits of the orbit of the GOES satellite which takes corresponding observations of the Sun. These observations are almost uninterrupted and what is happening now, is what is forcing to use the word almost. The matter of fact is that twice a year the device takes a position in the orbit where the line of its sight to the Sun is covered by the Earth. This peculiarity is shared by all satellites located in the orbit named the geostationary orbit, where the devices rotate at the same speed as the Earth that is a period of 24 hours. Mainly, these are communication and meteorological satellites, for which is especially important that their rotation period is synchronized with the period of revolution of the planet. There are also two solar satellites amongst them, namely the GOES satellite (more precisely, several GOES satellites as it is a group of devices) and the SDO satellite, the one which provides the images of the Sun. The respective periods are called the Eclipse seasons. The schedule of these periods can be calculated theoretically; these, in particular, are published on the website of the GOES group of satellites - ospo.noaa.gov/Operations/GOES/eclipse.html. It is not difficult to understand that at the moment when the Earth is starting to cover the satellite from the sun, the signal from the Sun gradually decreases, and in the case where the Sun is fully obscured, till its complete disappearance. When the sun gradually leaves the earth shadow, the radiation is starting to rise until it has restored to its original value. That is how the anti-flare occurring on the Sun.

According to the description provided on the GOES website, the eclipses for the GOES-R series of active space apparatuses are observed in average for 45 minutes before and 45 minutes after the local midday and start at about 45 days before and 45 days after the points of the equinox falling on 20-21 March (vernal equinox) and on 22-23 September (autumnal equinox). The actual schedule may significantly vary from the average. Such in this year, the first noticeable autumn dip was registered on the solar flares graphs on 2 September. Considering that the eclipse season should be symmetrical with respect to the equinox, its anti-flares maximum will be reached on 23 September this year, and then their intensity will start to decrease. The last day of the season, when the dip will be still visible on the charts, will be on 13-14 October.

Since the satellite SDO is also located on the same orbit and is currently providing images of the Sun published on the website, the eclipses of the Sun by the Earth can be also periodically observed on the images of the Sun.


Laboratory of X-ray astronomy of the Sun, Lebedev Institute, Russia
© XRAS tesis.lebedev.ru

RUS↔ENG

16 сентября 2019 года, 11:30 мск

Антивспышки на Солнце — начался сезон затмений на спутниках GOES

Антивспышки на Солнце Солнечные антивспышки на графике вспышечной активности.


Не очень редкое, но от этого не менее непонятное явление — появление на графиках солнечных вспышек "отрицательных" всплесков — регистрируется в настоящее время на поступающих из космоса данных. Такого рода провалы появляются на изображениях регулярно, а именно весной, в марте, и осенью, в сентябре, каждого года. Часто, однако, они проходят незамеченными, так как на фоне сильных вариаций, которые обычно характерны для графиков солнечных вспышек, незначительные и краткосрочные провалы излучения иногда просто не заметны. Этого, впрочем, нельзя сказать про поступающие сейчас данные. Поскольку на фоне крайне низкой активности Солнца, графики вспышек в настоящее время "выродились" почти в прямые линии, не заметить на этом фоне происходящие "антивспышки" просто невозможно.

Провалы излучения никак не связаны с реальной солнечной активностью, а возникают из-за особенностей орбиты космического аппарата GOES, который проводит соответствующие наблюдения Солнца. Эти наблюдения являются почти непрерывными, и именно сейчас и происходит то, что заставляет написать слово «почти». Дело в том, что два раза в год аппарат занимает на орбите такое положение, при котором направление его "взгляда" на Солнце начинает перекрываться Землёй. Такой особенностью обладают все спутники, расположенные на так называемой геостационарной орбите, на которой аппараты вращаются с той же скоростью, что и Земля, то есть с периодом 24 часа. В основном, это спутники связи и метеоспутники, для которых особенно важно синхронизировать свой период обращения с периодом обращения планеты. Но в их число попадают и два солнечных спутника, а именно спутник GOES (более точно — несколько спутников GOES, так как это группировка аппаратов) и спутник SDO, предоставляющий изображения Солнца. Соответствующие периоды называются периодами затмений. Расписание этих периодов может быть просчитано теоретически и, в частности, публикуется на сайте группировки GOES — ospo.noaa.gov/Operations/GOES/eclipse.html. Нетрудно понять, что в тот момент, когда Земля начинает закрывать Солнце от спутника, сигнал от Солнца постепенно уменьшается, вплоть до полного исчезновения, если Солнце скрыто полностью. Когда Солнце постепенно выходит из земной "тени", излучение начинает расти, пока не восстанавливается до исходного значения. Так происходит "антивспышка" на Солнце.

Согласно представленному на сайте GOES описанию, затмения для действующих аппаратов серии GOES-R наблюдаются в среднем за 45 минут до и 45 минут после локального полудня и начинаются примерно за 45 дней до и продолжаются 45 дней после точек равноденствия, которые приходятся на 20-21 марта (весеннее равноденствие) и 22-23 сентября (осеннее равноденствие). Фактический график может при этом довольно сильно отличаться от среднего. Так в этом году, на графиках солнечных вспышек, первый заметный осенний провал был зарегистрирован 2 сентября. Если считать, что сезон затмений должен быть симметричным относительно дня равноденствия, то своего максимума "антивспышки" достигнут 23 сентября этого года, а затем их интенсивность начнёт снижаться, и последним днём, когда провал ещё будет виден на графике, станет 13-14 октября.

Так как аппарат SDO, предоставляющий в настоящее время публикуемые на сайте изображения Солнца, также находится на этой же орбите, то затмения Солнца Землёй в этот период можно будет также периодически наблюдать и на снимках Солнца.


Лаборатория рентгеновской астрономии Солнца, ФИАН
© ЛРАС tesis.lebedev.ru