RUS↔ENG

4 September 2019, 08:30 UTC

During the course of summer 2019, there hasn't been a single flare on the Sun

Sun flares - artwork image. Sun flares — artwork image. Source - NASA.


Not a single solar flare of the x-rays class C or higher (a minimum level which is able to have an impact on Earth) has been recorded on the Sun over the past summer of the year 2019. Last, very weak surge in solar activity was observed in May 2019 and ended on 15 May, which is exactly 112 days ago. Currently, this is the fourth-longest in duration interval in the modern history of observations when a complete absence of the solar activity has been seeing. Wherein the third, longest by duration this type of interval, made of 183 days, was recorded quite recently from 6 July 2018 to 6 January 2019. However, the record-breaking intervals of activity in modern history are the two periods observed during the previous solar minimum in 2008 - 2009. The first one lasted for 214 days from April to November 2008 and the second interval lasted for 205 days from December 2008 to July 2009. In that time, such a sharp decline in activity had earnestly brought to the discussion on a possible beginning of the new Maunder minimum - long and lasting for several decades interruption of the solar activity which partially had coincided with a Little Ice Age at the turn of the XVII - XVIII centuries. Those apprehensions were not confirmed at that time though the subsequent solar cycle was one of the weakest in the entire 300-year history of observations.

A sharp decrease in the number of solar flares is one of the most prominent signs of the solar minimum alongside with a decrease in the number of sunspots. The reason for flares' disappearance, same as for the spots, is the nearly complete disappearance of a magnetic field on the Sun which is the main energy source for solar activity. Unlike the Earth's magnetic field, the field of the Sun is of a distinct variable character periodically strengthening and weakening in 11 years step pace. In our mind's eye, this solar pulse is beating for 300 years (number of years of the continuous observations of the Sun), then obviously that any of its interruptions are alarming. The concern is not about the decrease in the number of flares as such, but the fact that this may be a sign of some more serious changes in the Sun herewith, among the other things, can affect its luminosity, radiation spectrum and in the end, the climate. It should be noted that solar flares, even so often they perceived as negative phenomenon, do also play a very important role in the physics of the Earths atmosphere. In particular, their ionizing radiation is affecting the ionic and gas composition of the Earths upper atmosphere, including the concentration of the greenhouse gases. Furthermore, besides the responsibility of flares' radiation for the formation of the Earths ionosphere, it is also playing a key role in question of short-wave radio communications. In this sense, long intervals in the pace of the flares, much longer the usual ones to which our planet undoubtedly adapted to, do certainly have a destabilizing factor.

At present, the dynamics of the solar minimum is not yet alarming, notwithstanding the duration of the minimum which has already exceeded previous predictions when according to them the growth of solar activity was supposed to begin this summer. The beginning of 2020 should become quite a significant point in this matter. If by this time there won't be a distinctive outbreak registered in the solar activity, it will mean that the duration of the current minimum has equalled to the record minimum of 2008-2009. In this case, the conversation on the systemic evolutionary decrease in the Sun's level of activity may be started, which may also become a trend for the whole of the century.


Laboratory of X-ray astronomy of the Sun, Lebedev Institute, Russia
© XRAS tesis.lebedev.ru

RUS↔ENG

04 сентября 2019 года, 11:30 мск

За лето 2019 года на Солнце не произошло ни одной вспышки

Вспышки на Солнце - художественное изображение Вспышки на Солнце — художественное изображение. Источник - NASA.


Ни одной солнечной вспышки рентгеновского класса C и выше (минимальный уровень, способный оказывать воздействие на Землю) не было зарегистрировано на Солнце за прошедшее лето 2019 года. Последний, очень слабый, всплеск солнечной активности наблюдался в мае 2019 года и закончился 15 мая, то есть 112 дней назад. На текущий момент, это четвертый по продолжительности интервал в современной истории наблюдений, в течение которого наблюдается полное отсутствие активности Солнца. При этом третий по продолжительности период такого типа, составивший 183 дня, был зарегистрирован совсем недавно, с 6 июля 2018 года по 6 января 2019 года. Рекордными же в современной истории являются два перерыва в активности, наблюдавшиеся во время предыдущего солнечного минимума, 2008 - 2009 года. Первый из таких перерывов, с апреля по ноябрь 2008 года, длился 214 дней, а второй, — с декабря 2008 года по июль 2009 года, — 205 дней. В то время столь резкий спад активности всерьёз заставил обсуждать возможность начала нового маундеровского минимума — длительного, продолжавшегося несколько десятилетий, сбоя в солнечной активности, частично совпавшего с малым ледниковым периодом на стыке XVII - XVIII веков. Эти опасения тогда не подтвердились, хотя последовавший солнечный цикл оказался одним из самых слабых за всю 300-летнюю историю наблюдений.

Резкое снижение числа солнечных вспышек является одним из наиболее характерных признаков минимума солнечного цикла наряду с уменьшением числа пятен на Солнце. Причиной исчезновения вспышек, как и пятен, является почти полное исчезновение на Солнце магнитного поля, являющегося основным источником энергии для солнечной активности. В отличие от магнитного поля Земля, поле Солнца носит резко выраженный переменный характер, периодически усиливаясь и ослабляясь с шагом 11 лет. Так как этот солнечный "пульс" бьётся на наших глазах уже 300 лет (именно столько ведутся непрерывные наблюдения Солнца), то, очевидно, что любые его сбои внушают тревогу. При этом, конечно же, беспокойство вызывает не снижение числа вспышек, как таковое, а то, что это может быть признаком каких-то более серьёзных изменений на Солнце, способных, в числе прочего, повлиять на его светимость, спектр излучения и, в конечном счёте, на климат. Следует отметить, что и солнечные вспышки, хотя и воспринимаются часто как негативное явление, играют очень важную роль в физике земной атмосферы, — в частности, своим ионизирующим излучением влияют на ионный и газовый состав верхней атмосферы Земли, в том числе на концентрации парниковых газов. Кроме того, излучение вспышек отвечает за формирование ионосферы Земли, играющей, в том числе, ключевую роль в вопросах радиосвязи в коротковолновом диапазоне. В этом смысле длительные перерывы в темпе вспышек, заметно превышающие обычные, к которым наша планета, безусловно, приспособилась, являются, безусловно дестабилизирующим явлением.

В настоящее время динамика солнечного минимума пока не является тревожной, хотя продолжительность минимума уже превысила ранее выданные прогнозы, согласно которым рост солнечной активности должен был начаться этим летом. Достаточно значимой точкой в этом вопросе должно стать начало 2020 года. Если к этому времени не будет зарегистрирован выраженный рост солнечной активности, то это будет значить, что продолжительность текущего минимума сравнялась с рекордным минимумом 2008-2009 годов. В этом случае можно будет начать говорить о системном эволюционном снижении уровня активности Солнца, которое может стать трендом для всего текущего столетия.


Лаборатория рентгеновской астрономии Солнца, ФИАН
© ЛРАС tesis.lebedev.ru